Thursday, May 21, 2009

Goldwater Institute: Former U.S. Secretary of Transportation Becomes Goldwater Institute Senior Fellow

Arizona native Mary Peters brings cabinet-level experience to policy organization
Phoenix--Former Secretary of Transportation Mary Peters has joined the Goldwater Institute as a Senior Fellow. Ms. Peters served as transportation secretary for President George W. Bush from 2006 to 2009. Prior to that, Peters was the Administrator for the Federal Highway Administration. She also spent 16 years at the Arizona Department of Transportation, which she headed from 1998 to 2001.
"We are thrilled to have Secretary Peters join the distinguished group of Goldwater Institute Senior Fellows," said Darcy Olsen, President and CEO of the Goldwater Institute. "With her unparalleled knowledge of transportation issues, she can offer much-needed, private sector-based solutions to our nation's traffic problems."

Goldwater Institute Senior Fellows are selected for their exceptional knowledge, commitment to principle, and personal integrity. Fellows support the Goldwater Institute by sharing their experiences and expertise with resident scholars, assisting with research design and projects, reviewing research, writing reports, and participating in Institute roundtables, forums and conferences.

The Goldwater Institute also recently added as Senior Fellows: Dr. Veronique DeRugy, economist at the Mercatus Center; Dr. Fred E. Foldvary, economics professor at Santa Clara University; Dr. George Reisman, Pepperdine University Professor Emeritus of Economics; and Todd J. Zywicki, law professor at George Mason University.

Other Senior Fellows include Robert C. Balling, Randy Barnett, Benjamin Barr, James D. Gwartney, Alan Charles Kors, Dan Lips, Carrie Lukas, Stephen Moore, Robert G. Natelson, Michael J. New, Jeffrey Parker, Steve Pejovich, David Schmidtz, Bradley Smith, Nobel Laureate Vernon L. Smith, and Gordon Tullock.

For more information on the Goldwater Institute Senior Fellows, visit

The Goldwater Institute is a nonprofit public policy research and litigation organization whose work is made possible by the generosity of its supporters.

No comments: