Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Mayors Scott Smith and Jay Tibshraeny Endorse Salmon for Congress

CONTACT: Adam Deguire
Mesa and Chandler leaders praise Salmon’s record of supporting East Valley cities
 EAST VALLEY – Former Congressman and candidate for Arizona’s 6th Congressional District Matt Salmon proudly announced today that his campaign received the endorsements from two more prominent East Valley Leaders:
Mayor Scott Smith – City of Mesa
Mayor Jay Tibshraeny – City of Chandler
 Mesa Mayor Scott Smith stated, “Matt has a proven track record of supporting East Valley cities and understands firsthand how overbearing federal regulations and policies have a direct effect on local government. This district is home to the region’s most dynamic economic engines such as Gateway Airport, Falcon Field, and Boeing and Matt understands how municipal and federal governments can work together to create jobs and economic opportunity for Arizona citizens. I am proud to join Matt’s team.”
Chandler Mayor Jay Tibshraeny added, “Matt Salmon has shown time and time again he has the principles and courage to get the job done in Washington. Matt was an integral member of a Republican-majority Congress that balanced a federal budget for the first time in over a generation, and I know he’ll lead the fight to do it again. The problems that our nation faces are daunting and Matt’s experience in Congress will allow him to hit the ground running and get to work on finding the solutions.”
“I am honored to have the support from two of the East Valley’s most innovative and respected leaders in my bid to return to Congress,” said Salmon. “I know how critical it is to have strong working relationships with our local leaders and I plan to work closely with all municipal leaders in my district. Mayors Smith and Tibshraeny have made the tough decisions necessary to balance their city budgets, while maintaining the critical services their constituents require. I pledge to make the same tough decisions back in Washington in order to get our country’s financial house back in order.”
With a population of over 430,000 residents, the city of Mesa is currently the 3rd largest city in Arizona and the 38th largest in the nation, encompassing the majority of congressional district six. Mesa is home to the Apache Helicopter production facilities in addition to the former Air Force Research Labs at the Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport. Chandler is currently the 4th largest city in Arizona and is home to the Intel Corporation, Microchip Technology and Freescale Semiconductor.
Mayors Smith and Tibshraeny join East Valley mayors Gail Barney (Queen Creek), Hugh Hallman (Tempe) and John Insalaco (Apache Junction) in supporting Salmon for Congress.
About Mayor Scott Smith
As a first-time political candidate, Scott Smith was elected Mayor of Mesa, Arizona in May of 2008. As a strong proponent of regional solutions, Mayor Smith serves in key roles on many local, state and national boards and committees. Most recently, Smith was elected as the Second Vice President of the United States Conference of Mayors (USCM). He will become the organization’s president in 2013 and the first Arizona mayor to serve as president of the organization. Mayor Smith earned a degree in Accounting from BYU, and MBA and JD degrees from Arizona State. He and his wife Kim have been married for more than 30 years and have three children and three grandchildren.
About Mayor Jay Tibshraeny
Mayor Jay Tibshraeny began his unprecedented 5th term as Chandler’s Mayor in January 2011 after serving eight years in the Arizona State Senate from 2003-2011. He originally served as a member of the City Council from 1986 to 2002 as Councilmember, Vice Mayor and as Mayor. He was first elected Chandler Mayor in 1994, and served in that capacity for four consecutive terms through 2002. Mayor Tibshraeny is a small businessman and a citrus grower. He completed 12 years in the Chandler Public School System and holds a bachelor’s degree in Accounting from Arizona State University. He and his wife Karen have one daughter, Lauren.
About Matt Salmon
Matt Salmon was first elected to the United States Congress in 1994 and served until 2000, honoring his term limit pledge. A proud conservative, Salmon was rated in the top five among all 535 members of the House and Senate by Citizen’s Against Government Waste for all six years he was in office. He is a lifetime member of the NRA with an A+ rating and also earned a 100% rating by the National Right to Life. He was also the proud recipient of the American Cancer Society’s “Top National Elected Official” award.
Matt Salmon has received endorsements from Arizona Congressman Trent Franks, former Arizona Congressman John Shadegg, Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio, South Dakota Senator John Thune, Mesa Vice-Mayor Scott Sommers, Mesa Councilmembers Dave Richins, Dennis Kavanaugh and Christopher Glover, and Chandler Councilmembers Rick Heumann and Jack Sellers.

No comments: