Saturday, January 19, 2008

Slowing Down AZ’s Budget Rollercoaster

Pearce introduces Spending Limit Referendum Bill, HCR 2038

The Governor and her Big Spender allies in the Legislature have spent the state government into another deficit crisis. Now, some of the Big Spenders are using the deficit as an excuse to justify increased property taxes next year.

Arizona’s budget problems really got out of control in FY 2006 and FY 2007, when the size of state government as a portion of the state economy exceeded 6.5 percent—levels of spending not seen since the early 1990s. Spending as a portion of the economy is down a little this year, but the Governor and the Big Spenders will soon push it even higher.

Today, Rep. Russell Pearce (Republican, District 18, Mesa) introduced HCR 2038, a referendum bill that would give voters in November an opportunity to freeze the size of state government at 6.4 percent of state personal income. That would keep state government from taking a larger and larger piece of the state economy.

The 6.4 percent bill is a fiscally moderate proposal: It allows state government to grow, but only as fast as the state economy. If a Legislator believes that government should get larger as a portion of the economy, he or she is a Big Spender, not a fiscal moderate.

Please take a moment to send a note to say thanks to Rep. Pearce at, and to the legislators in your district who signed on as co-sponsors of HCR 2038:

Rep. Mark Anderson (R-18, Mesa),

Rep. Ray Barnes (R-7, Northeast Phoenix, Cave Creek),

Rep. Andy Biggs (R-22, Gilbert),

Rep. Judy Burges (R-4, Sun City West, Surprise, Wickenburg),

Rep. Sam Crump (R-6, Anthem, North Phoenix),

Rep. Eddie Farnsworth (R-22, Gilbert),

Rep. Trish Groe (R-3, Lake Havasu City, Mohave County),

Rep. John Kavanagh (R-8, Scottsdale, Fountain Hills),

Rep. Rick Murphy (R-9, Peoria, Sun City),

Rep. Bob Stump (R-9, Peoria, Sun City),

Rep. Jim Weiers, House Speaker (R-10, Northwest Phoenix),

Rep. Steven Yarbrough (R-21, Chandler),

Sen. Bob Burns (R-9, Peoria, Sun City),

Sen. Ron Gould (R-3, Lake Havasu City, Mohave County),

Sen. Jack Harper (R-4, Sun City West, Surprise, Wickenburg),

Sen. Karen Johnson (R-18, Mesa),

Sen. Thayer Verschoor (R-22, Gilbert),

To read the text of the bill, copy and paste this URL into your browser:

Tom Jenney
Executive Director
Arizona Federation of Taxpayers
A state chapter of Americans for Prosperity

(602) 478-0146

No comments: