Friday, December 21, 2007

2007 Arizona Taxpayer Scorecard Released

Four legislators qualify as Heroes of the Taxpayer

Democratic legislators make gains on fiscal policy issues

PHOENIX—The Arizona Federation of Taxpayers, a state chapter of Americans for Prosperity (AFT-AFP), today posted the scores from its 23rd annual "Friend of the Taxpayer" Legislative Scorecard The top-scoring legislators were announced Saturday at the group's "Friend of the Taxpayer" Awards Luncheon at the Scottsdale Plaza Resort, where over 400 taxpayer activists, legislators, and local government officials gathered.

Senator Ron Gould (R-Lake Havasu City) won the top prize for the third year in row, with a score of 97 percent. But Gould had close competition this year from Rep. Andy Biggs (R-Gilbert), Rep. Russell Pearce (R-Mesa), and Sen. Pamela Gorman (R-Anthem), who also scored 90 percent or higher and thereby qualified as Heroes of the Arizona Taxpayer.

This year's Champions of the Taxpayer (80 to 89 percent) included Rep. Kirk Adams (R-Mesa), Rep. Judy Burges ( R-Sun City), Rep. Doug Clark (R-Anthem), Rep. Sam Crump (R-Anthem), Rep. Eddie Farnsworth (R-Gilbert), Sen. Chuck Gray (R-Mesa), Rep. Trish Groe (R-Lake Havasu City), Sen. Karen Johnson (R-Mesa), Rep. John Kavanagh (R-Scottsdale), Rep. Rick Murphy (R-Glendale), Rep. Warde Nichols (R-Chandler). With their combined high scores, Sen. Gorman and Reps. Clark and Crump made Legislative District 6 (Anthem/North Phoenix) the highest-scoring district in the state.

Two Democratic legislators scored above 50 percent on this year's Scorecard. Sen. Ken Cheuvront of Phoenix scored in the Ally of the Taxpayer category (60-69 percent), and Rep. Mark DeSimone of Phoenix scored in the Needs Improvement category (50-59 percent). Sen. Cheuvront also shared this year's Kendrick Prize for Legislative Courage with Rep. Rick Murphy (R-Glendale), for spearheading a successful reform bill aimed at curbing municipal sales tax giveaways to politically-connected developers.

The average Republican legislator scored 65 percent (Ally of the Taxpayer), while the average Democratic legislator scored 32 percent (Friend of Big Government). Last year's averages were 62 percent and 20 percent, respectively. Legislators who did not get their awards at the luncheon can get them from Wally the Wallet on the opening day of the 2008 Session in January.

Americans for Prosperity Foundation is a section 501(c)(3) organization under the Internal Revenue Code. Contributions to AFP Foundation are tax deductible, less the fair-market value of goods or services received. AFP Foundation's focus is to educate the general public about public policy issues, not to support or oppose specific legislation.

1 comment:

Richard said...

To be a "Friend of the Taxpayer" means to have voted to spend no money on anything that would help Arizonans. So it's really an "Enemy of the Family" award, right?